Home  |  Academics
  |  Department of History
Bookmark and Share

Department of History

The Dr. Leonard Latkovski Memorial Prize in History was established in 2009 by the Department of History and renamed in 2015 in memory of Dr. Leonard Latkovski, professor of history. The award is presented to a junior or senior for outstanding achievement in history. This year’s award goes to Elizabeth Shearin.

Elizabeth is a senior majoring in history and minoring in political science. She has written a Departmental Honors paper titled “U.S.-Vichy Relations: Diplomacy, Democracy and Collaboration, 1940-1942,” a topic she developed on a study trip to France last spring. She recently delivered a paper entitled “Eisenhower and Desegregation: Per- sonal Morality or Executive Responsibility” at the regional Phi Alpha Theta conference. After graduation, Eliza- beth is considering pursuing graduate studies in international relations and hopes to return to France and Europe often.

The James B. Ranck Book Prize in American History is an annual gift honoring the late Professor Emeritus James B. Ranck. It provides prizes of significant books on American history or political life to a student who is outstanding in this field. Professor Ranck taught history and political science at Hood from 1929 to 1967; he died in 1988. The prize is awarded to Anastasia Guerrero.

Anastasia is a junior in the Honors Program, double majoring in history and art and archaeology. She will be study- ing in Italy in the fall. Her creative and thoughtful work has impressed her history instructors, as she draws interest- ing connections, argues persuasively and goes beyond what is expected.

The Hildegarde Pilgram '31 Prize was established in 2010 by Emilie Amt, Hildegarde Pilgram Professor of History, in honor of Hildegarde Pilgram ’31, who endowed the Hildegarde Pilgram Chair in History. The prize is awarded to a student(s) who has shown excellence in medieval history or medieval studies. Ms. Pilgram served on the Hood College Board of Trustees for 14 years; she died in 1995. Jackie Mangogna is this year’s recipient.

Jackie is a junior in the Honors Program, majoring in history, pursuing secondary education certi cation and minoring in studio art. She pounces on her work with the same vigor and determination with which she approaches the hurdles on the track, and with equal success. She has done consistently excellent work in her courses on medieval warfare and medieval women, as well as in other elds of history. She recently delivered a paper on “The Rapa Nui” at the regional Phi Alpha Theta conference.

The Elizabeth Yourtee Anderson '82 History Prize was established in 2011 by the Anderson family in memory of Elizabeth Yourtee Anderson ’82. The prize is presented annually to a student who has demonstrated outstanding achievement, integrity and passion for Maryland history, public history and/or historic preservation. The recipient is Shannon Jilson.

Shannon is a senior majoring in history and currently interning with the National Park Service Cultural Resources Of ce of Interpretation and Education; her work appears on the website of the NPS Teaching with Historic Places program. Shannon has worked many years with youth programs in Montgomery County, Maryland, and plans to work in youth and child education after graduation. As a successful transfer student, Shannon has impressed her instructors with her intensity and focus, her close reading of historical texts, and her ability to understand complex cultural issues in United States history.